STATE OF WYOMING
DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY
LAND QUALITY DIVISION
HERSCHLER BUILDING, 122 W. 25™ ST

CHEYENNE, WY 82002 N.O.V. No. 100558
TELEPHONE: (307) 777-7756 Permit No. 569-T6
COAL OPERATION Docket No. 4486-09

NOTICE OF VIOLATION (NOTICE)
To the Following Permittee or Operator or Licensee:

Name: Powder River Coal Company, LLC

Mine: North Antelope Rochelle Mine Campbell/Converse  County: Telephone: (307) 687-3923

Surface: X Underground: Other:

Mailing Address: Caller Box 3034 Gillette, WY 82717-3034

Date of Inspection: April 7 and April 8, 2009

Time of Inspection: from __4/7/09 - 7:00 am and 4/8/09 - 4.30 pm

Name of Operator (if other than permittee): same as above

Mailing Address: same as above

Under the authority of the Wyoming Environmental Quality Act of 1973 (Act), as amended, the undersigned
designated representative of the Director of the Wyoming Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ) has conducted an
inspection of the above mine on the above date and has found violation(s) of the Act., the regulations or required permit
condition(s) listed in the attachmenti(s). This Notice constitutes a separate Notice of Violation for each violation listed.

You must abate each of these violations within the designated abatement time. You are responsible for doing all work
in a safe and workmanlike manner.

The undersigned designated representative finds that cessation of mining is not expressly or in practical effect
required by this Notice. For this purpose “mining” means extracting coal from the earth or a waste pile and transporting it
within or from the permit area.

This Notice shall remain in effect until it expires as provided on the attached Page 2 or is modified, terminated, or
vacated by written notice of a designated representative or the Wyoming Environmental Quality Council. The time for
abatement may be extended by a designated representative for up to 90 days from issuance of the notice, if the failure to
meet the time previously set was not caused by lack of diligei(?the part of the Permittee or Operator or Licensee.

TR N .

“SIGNATURE OF DESIGNATED REPRESENTATIVE

PROOF OF SERVICE: CERTIFIED MAIL RECEIPT PRINTED NAME °

DATE OF SERVICE: _ April 23, 2009

MANNER OF SERVICE: _ CERTIFIED MAIL

PERSON SERVED WITH NOTICE: ROSE HAROIAN

CC:CHEYENNE LQD
DISTRICT OFFICE
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N.O.V. NO. 100558

PERMIT NO. _ 569-Té6

DOCKET NO. __ 4486-09

DATE OF SERVICE April 23, 2009

IMPORTANT - PLEASE READ CAREFULLY

FORMAL REVIEW AND TEMPORARY RELIEF _You must apply for review of this Notice by submitting an
application for review, within 30 days of this Notice by you or your agent, to:

Mr. John V. Corra, Director
Department of Environmental Quality
Herschler Building

122 W.25" St.

Cheyenne, WY 82002

If you apply for a formal public hearing, you may request temporary relief from this Notice. Your request must be
filed at the above address prior to a decision in the hearing. The procedures for obtaining a formal public hearing or
temporary relief are contained in W.S. § 35-11-437 (c) (ii) and (e), Land Quality Division (LQD) Coal Rules &
Regulations (R&R) Chapter 16, Section 2(m) and DEQ Rules of Practice and Procedures Chapters 1 and 2.

EXPEDITED REVIEW If this Notice requires cessation of mining, expressly or in practical effect, as found on page
1, then the procedures of W.S. § 35-11-437 (d) apply. This provision affords an opportunity for an expedited hearing,
upon request, if this Notice is affirmed by the director. Please review this finding and inform the designated
representative if you agree with it.

PENALTIES You may submit information in writing pertaining to the violation(s) covered by this Notice within 15
days of the date it is served on you or your agent. This information will be considered in determining the facts
surrounding the violation and the amount of penalty.

For each violation covered by this Notice, a penalty of up to $5,000.00 may be assessed for each day during which
that violation continues.

If you fail to abate any of the violations within the time set for abatement or for meeting any interim step, you must be
assessed a minimum penalty of $750.00 or more for each day during which the violation continues beyond the time
set for abatement, and you must be issued a cessation order requiring you to cease surface coal mining operations on
the portion relevant to the violation(s).

EFFECT ON THE PERMIT In addition, if it is determined that a pattern of violations of any requirement(s) of the
Act, the regulations, or permit conditions exists, and that the violations were caused by unwarranted failure to comply
or were willful, the permit may be suspended or revoked.

FOR FURTHER INFORMATION, PLEASE CONSULT: W.S. § 35-11-409(c), W.S. § 35-11-437, LQD Coal R&R
Chapter 16, Sections 2 and 3 and DEQ Rules of Practice and Procedures Chapters 1 and 2.
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Notice of Violation No. 100558
Permit No. 569-T6

Docket No. 4486-09

Date of Service: April 23, 2009

Violation No. 100558

Nature of the Violation

During the inspection on April 7, 2009, it was determined that the blaster in charge, Jerry L. Hugen, signed six blasts shot
records (Shot Nos.:17133, 17136, 17155, 17182, 117184, and 17211). At the time of these shots, Mr. Hugen was not
certified to sign the records for each of these shots. His State of Wyoming Blaster Certificate expired on January 5, 2009.
The renewal of Jerry Hugen’s Wyoming Blaster Certificate took place on March 30, 2009. Mr. Jerry L. Hugen signature
appeared on the six blast shots noted above on the following dates: January 7, 2009; January 8, 2009; January 18, 2009;
January 24, 2009 (x2), and February 3, 2009.

Provision(s) of the LQD Coal R&R, Act, or Permit Violated

1. Department of Environmental Quality, Coal Rules and Regulations, Ch.6, Sec.5 (a)(iii), “... The record shall contain the
following data: Name, signature, and certification of blaster conducting the blast.”

2. Department of Environmental Quality, Coal Rules and Regulations, Ch.6, Sec.6 (cX(i), “ All blasting operations shall be
conducted under the directions of a certified blaster having a minimum of two years of blasting experience.”

3. Department of Environmental Quality, Coal Rules and Regulations, Ch.6, Sec.6 (f)(i), “Certificates will be issued to thos
candidates receiving a passing score on the certification examination. The certification will expire five years from the
issuance date.”

Portion of the Operation to which Notice Applies

Records recording the blasting operations

Remedial Action Required (including interim steps, if any)

None required (see below)

Time for Abatement (including time for interim steps, if any)

There is no need for any abatement. Mr. Jerry L. Hugen passed the blasting certification test and a new Wyoming Blaster
Certificate number WS 0948-09 was issued with an effective date of March 30, 2009.
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