
1) Which of the following storage tank systems are NOT subject to the storage tank rules 
found in Chapter 17, Wyoming Water Quality Rules and Regulations, and the 
provisions of Title 35, Chapter 11, Article 14 of the Wyoming Statutes? 

 
a. All aboveground hazardous substance tanks, regardless of size. 
b. All underground storage tanks used to store hazardous substances. 
c. Underground storage tanks larger than 110 gallons unless exempted by the 

statute. 
d. All aboveground storage tanks used by a fuel dealer to sell gasoline or 

diesel retail. 
 

2) A careless customer at a convenience store allowed gasoline to spill while filling his 
car.  The gasoline ran into a storm drain and caught fire.  What is the most that the 
Financial Responsibility Account pay if someone is killed by this incident? 

 
a. $30,000 
b. $970,000 
c. $1,000,000 
d. Nothing 

 
3) A property owner next to a service station has won a judgment against the owner of 

the station because gasoline leaking from the aboveground storage tanks accumulated 
in his basement.  Fighting the lawsuit has cost the owner $74,000 over a three year 
time frame.  The judgment rendered is in the amount of $750,000.  How much of this 
claim will the Financial Responsibility Account ultimately end up paying? 

 
a. $720,000 
b. $770,000 
c. $794,000 
d. $1,000,000 

 
4) The Department of Environmental Quality is spending money at a rate of $35,000 per 

year to operate the remediation system on a contaminated site.  A new owner refuses 
to pay the annual contaminated site fee of $200.  What can the department do in this 
situation? 

 
a. Sue the new owner for all of the costs accrued after the owner refused to 

pay. 
b. Continue operating the system and keep track of the costs for that one 

system. 
c. Shut the system down and require the new owner to clean up the site at his 

own expense. 
d. Any or all of the above. 

 



5) As the owner of a contaminated site where all of the tanks have been removed, you 
have received an invoice for $200.00 for a contaminated site fee.  If you pay this 
invoice what are you paying for? 
 

a. Coverage under the Corrective Action Account. 
b. Coverage under the Financial Responsibility Account. 
c. The state will clean up the site (eventually) at state expense. 
d. All of the above. 

 

6) If the DEQ or its consultants take samples from monitoring wells on your property,  
you have the right to: 

 
a. Request a copy of any and all analysis done. 
b. Require that testing only be done when the facility is closed. 
c. Require that testing only be done on certain days of the week. 
d. Prevent them from accessing your property unless you are present. 

 
7) When a new storage tank is installed, or an existing storage tank system is 

substantially modified, what is required before the system can be operated? 
 

a. The DEQ must issue an approval letter in writing. 
b. The installer must certify that all invoices have been paid. 
c. You must have an importer’s license issued by the Wyoming Fuel Tax 

Administration. 
d. The Department of Agriculture, Weights and Measures section, must 

certify all meters used in retail sale. 
 

8) What is the annual tank fee for a 4,000 gallon AST that is used by a dealer to sell fuel 
retail? 

a. $50 
b. $200 
c. $250 
d. Nothing, the tank is not regulated. 

 
9) If an owner/operator fails to pay the tank fees by April 1, how much of a late fee can 

the department charge? 
 

a. $50 per tank 
b. $100 per tank 
c. $200 per tank 
d. $250 per tank 

 
 
 
 



10) When automatic systems are used for overfill prevention.  They shall shut off the flow 
into the tank when the tank is at no more than: 
 

a. 85% full 
b. 90% full 
c. 95% full 
d. 98% full 

 
11) A CP system on a UST was last tested by a licensed CP tester on February 17, 2010.  

When is the next test of the CP system due by? 
 

a. August 17, 2010 
b. February 17, 2011 
c. February 17, 2013 
d. August 17, 2013 

 
 

12) A steel UST failed CP testing. What is required to be done? 
 

a. Have the cathodic protection tester install additional anodes. 
b. Wet the ground around the sacrificial anodes. 
c. Hire a corrosion expert to evaluate the system and design repairs. 
d. Report a suspected release, empty the tank and do not use the tank again 

until the cathodic protection system can be repaired. 
 

13) A station has steel tanks protected by an impressed current system.  How many of the 
required tests performed by a licensed cathodic protection tester are required to be 
kept on file by the owner/operator? 
 

a. The last two tests 
b. The last three tests 
c. The last three years’ worth 
d. Every test since the tank was first installed. 

 
14) A station has steel tanks and lines protected against corrosion using an impressed 

current system.  The operator is checking the rectifier monthly.  How many of the 
operator’s check records are required to be on file?   
 

a. The last two 
b. The last three 
c. The last three years’ worth. 
d. Six months’ worth, regardless of how often it is checked. 

 
 
 



15) If you wish to change products stored in one of your tanks, you must do all of the 
following EXCEPT: 

 
a. Insure that the probes for all automatic tank gauges are the proper probes 

for the new product. 
b. Insure that all tanks are replaced with double wall tanks within one year of 

the change in product. 
c. Insure that all of the tanks, lines, and leak detection equipment are 

compatible with the new product stored. 
d. Insure that the dispensers and meters are compatible with the new product 

and that they will properly measure the new product. 
 

16) Owners/operators are required to cooperate fully with inspections. Which of the 
following is a facility owner/operator not required to do during an inspection 
performed by the department?  
 

a. Provide dealer reports. 
b. Provide access to all manholes. 
c. Open manholes and other access points. 
d. Provide leak detection records when requested. 

 
17) Which of the following locations is acceptable for the maintenance of records for a 

storage tank facility in Wyoming? 
 

a. An area office located in Denver, Colorado. 
b. At the corporate office in St. Louis, Missouri. 
c. An environmental firm’s office in Wichita, Kansas. 
d. At the registered agent’s office in Cheyenne, Wyoming. 

 
18) Which of the following records are NOT required to be kept by the owner/operator? 

 
a. Documentation of the operation of CP systems. 
b. Records showing how often the fuel filters were changed. 
c. Documentation showing the make, model and serial number of all leak 

detection equipment used. 
d. Documentation of all cleanup activities done by the state under the 

Corrective Action Account. 
 

19) During the last Operator’s Annual Inspection on July 1, 2010, the sump sensors were 
tested for functionality.  When is the next test of the sump sensors due by? 

 
a. January 1, 2011 
b. March 1, 2011 
c. July 1, 2011 
d. July 1, 2013 

 



20) Which of these tasks are not required to be performed during an OAI? 
 

a. Tank tightness testing 
b. Line tightness testing 
c. Leak detector function testing 
d. Check the calibration of the ATG 

 
21) Which of the following records are required to be submitted with the OAI data? 

 
a. Copy of fuel tax license 
b. Copy of fuel dealer reports 
c. An annual tank registration form  
d. Copies of tank leak detection records 

 
22) Which of the following methods may not be used in lieu of line tightness testing? 

 
a. Vapor monitoring 
b. Automatic tank gauging 
c. Groundwater monitoring 
d. Statistical inventory reconciliation (SIR) 

 
23) If a facility has US suction piping and manual tank gauging is used for tank leak 

detection, how often must line tightness testing be performed? 
 

a. Within 6 months of installation 
b. Every year. 
c. Every three years.  
d. Never, manual tank gauging is a form of leak detection that can be used in 

lieu of line tightness testing. 
 

24) The mechanical line leak detectors at a service station were tested January 7, 2010.  
When is the next test of the line leak detectors due by? 

a. February 7, 2010 
b. July 7, 2010 
c. January 7, 2011 
d. January 7, 2013 

 
25) When a station equipped with pressurized piping uses Inventory Control, what 

additional test is required when the mechanical line leak detectors are functionally 
tested? 

a. Nothing. 
b. Pressure test the lines at 150% of operating pressure. 
c. Pressure test the lines at standard temperature and pressure. 
d. Remove the impact valves beneath each dispenser and check the rubber 

seals for wear. 
 



26) A company operates pressurized lines with electronic line leak detectors at its service 
station.  How often are the electronic line leak detectors required to be tested? 
 

a. Once every month. 
b. Once every six months. 
c. Once every three years. 
d. Annually, within one year of the previous test. 

 
27) A station has double wall lines and sump sensors are used for leak detection.  If the 

sump sensors alarm, the operator must do all of the following EXCEPT? 
 

a. Find some way to silence the alarm, and note this on the operator’s 
monthly inspection report. 

b. Open the sumps and determine if the sump sensors alarmed because of 
water or product in the sumps. 

c. Remove all of the water, if any, from the sumps and have the sump sensors 
re-set on the bottom of the sump. 

d. If there is product in the sump, report a suspected release, have tests run to 
locate the leak, have the equipment repaired, and dispose of spilled product 
properly. 
 

28) What is the frequency of line tightness testing for safe or exempt suction piping? 
a. Never 
b. Annually  
c. Every three years 
d. Every five years 

 
29) A facility has a throughput of less than 15,000 gallons a month and is using inventory 

control as its sole leak detection method. What are they required to do if their tank 
has a shortage of 175 gallons for the month of August? 
 

a. Report a suspected release. 
b. Perform a tank tightness test. 
c. Nothing, the inventory control did not fail two months in a row. 
d. Submit the records to an outside statistical inventory reconciliation (SIR) 

vendor.  
 

30) An owner wants to install a new run of piping. Which of the following types of piping 
can they use? 

 
a. Single wall steel 
b. Single wall fiberglass 
c. Single wall flexible plastic 
d. Double wall flexible plastic 

 



 
31)  Last month, a facility received a report from the SIR provider that showed an 

inconclusive result for the unleaded gasoline tank.  After auditing the 
inventory control records and resubmitting them to the SIR provider, the SIR 
provider still will not issue a passing result. What should the operator do? 
 

a. Report and investigate a suspected release.   
b. Re-submit corrected data to the SIR company again. 
c. Dig up the tank and all of the lines to find the confirmed release. 
d. Place the failing tank in “Temporarily Out of Use” condition within 

5 days.  
 

32) The underground tank at a facility failed to pass an automatic tank gauge 
(ATG) test during the month of July. What is the owner /operator required to 
do? 

a. Fill the tank to the point where it passes. 
b. Report and investigate a suspected release. 
c. Nothing, as it did not fail two months in a row. 
d. Send the inventory control records to an SIR provider 

 
33) If a tank is monitored by ATG and inventory control and it has a throughput 

of 20,000 gallons a month. The tank had a shortage of 400 gallons the first 
month, an overage of 380 gallons the next month, and the tank had passing 
ATG tests for each month.  What is an owner/operator required to do? 
 

a. Submit the records to an SIR provider. 
b. Nothing the tank had passing ATG tests. 
c. Report and investigate a suspected release. 
d. Nothing one failure was a shortage and the other was an overage 

and so they cancel each other out. 
 

34) If a facility uses monitoring wells for leak detection, how often is the owner/operator 
required to check the wells? 
 

a. Every day 
b. Weekly 
c. Every 30 days 
d. Every 60 days 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 



35) A dispenser at a station has been operating erratically and the operator can’t 
figure out why. What is the operator required to do when this occurs? 
 

a. Have the dispenser replaced. 
b. Have the meter re-calibrated. 
c. Replace the automatic line leak detector.  
d. Report and investigate a suspected release. 

 
36) A facility has a regulated UST system. Which of the following releases is eligible for 

cleanup by the corrective action account? 
 

a. Overfill by a tanker truck. 
b. A ruptured dispenser hose. 
c. A leak from inside of a dispenser. 
d. A leak from the pressurized piping.    

 
37)  If facility has a suspected release, when is the owner/operator required to 

report it? 
 

a. Within 24 hours. 
b. Within 48 hours. 
c. Within 7 days.  
d. Within 30 days. 

 
38) A tanker truck delivered gasoline at a service station, the hose broke during the 

delivery and the delivery driver spilled 500 gallons.  Who is not responsible to clean 
up the spill? 

 
a. The owner of the facility. 
b. The operator of the facility. 
c. The Corrective Action Account. 
d. The company who had control of the fuel during the delivery. 

 

39) A facility has USTs. It has never been classified as a contaminated site, and a 
minimum site assessment (MSA) has never been performed. When is the 
owner/operator required to perform an MSA? 

a. When the USTs are between 8 and 10 years old. 
b. When the USTs are between 18 and 20 years old.  
c. When the USTs are between 28 and 30 years old. 
d. When the USTs are between 38 and 40 years old. 

 
 
 



40) How long may a tank remain in temporarily out of use status before an MSA 
has to be performed? 

a. 1 year 
b. 2 years 
c. 3 years 
d. 10 years 

 
41) How much liquid may a temporarily out use storage tank contain, if the 

owner/operator does not wish to perform tank leak detection? 
a. Less than 1 inch 
b. Less than 6 inches  
c. Less the 12 inches  
d. Less than 24 inches 

 
42) Which of the following is not an acceptable form of impact prevention for an 

AST? 
a. Guard posts. 
b. Jersey barriers. 
c. An impact resistant UL 2085 tank. 
d. A concrete secondary containment wall that is 4 feet from the tanks. 

 
43)  Which of the form of overfill prevention equipment is required for all regulated 

ASTs: 
a. A ball float valve that restricts flow at 95% full 
b. An overfill alarm that alarms at 97% full 
c. An overfill device that restricts flow at 95% full 
d. An overfill device that restricts flow at 97% full 

 
44) Which of the following types of piping is not allowed to be connected to a regulated 

AST system? 
a. Single wall steel aboveground piping. 
b. Single wall steel underground piping. 
c. Double wall flexible plastic underground piping. 
d. Double wall fiberglass reinforced plastic underground piping. 

 
45) How soon shall the person in responsible charge obtain a license from the 

department?  
a. Within 30 days 
b. Within 60 months 
c. Within 90 days 
d. Within 6 months 

 
 

 
 
 



46) A Class A operator is over more than one facility. Which of the following tasks is 
NOT required to be performed by the Class A or B operator? 

a. Function test sump sensors quarterly. 
b. Inspect double wall piping sumps quarterly 
c. Insure sump sensors are within one half inch of the bottom the sumps 

quarterly 
d. Check the integrity of spill containment and check for the presence of 

liquid in spill containers 
 

47) Of the following, which is not a reason for revocation of a license issued by the 
department? 
 

a. False reporting. 
b. Failure to pay license fees. 
c. Submission of falsified data. 
d. License was revoked by another issuing agency. 

 

48) For which of the following reasons may the department issue a fuel delivery 
prohibition order? 

a. Failure to perform tank leak detection for 30 days. 
b. Failure to perform an OAI within 30 days of the date due. 
c. Failure to pay storage tank registration fee by September 1. 
d. Failure to have a licensed operator for over 60 days 

 
49) What must be received by the owner prior to operating a newly installed tank? 

a. Written authorization from the EPA  
b. Verbal authorization to operate from the EPA 
c. Verbal authorization from the department to operate 
d. Written authorization from the department to operate   

 
50) What is the maximum number of facilities a Class B operator is allowed to be in 

responsible charge of? 
 

a. One 
b. Three 
c. Ten 
d. Fifteen 

 


