
ABOVE GROUND STORAGE TANKS (ASTs) 
 
Tanks Covered by the Corrective  Action Account: 
 

W.S. 35-11-1415 defines an Above Ground Storage Tank (AST) as a tank which is 90% above 
the surface of the ground and is used by a fuel dealer to dispense gasoline or diesel fuels.  A 
fuel dealer is a person meeting the definition of W.S. 39-17-101(a)(v) or 39-17-201(a)(vi), this 
includes airports. In order for an AST to be covered by the Corrective Action Account and the 
Financial Responsibility Account, the tank owner/operator must be someone who is required to 
have a fuel dealer’s license issued by the Fuel Tax Administration.  There is no minimum size 
for an AST to qualify under this statute.   
 
Owners/operators of these AST’s are required to pay annual tank fees prescribed in the statute by 
July 1 or each year.  The fee for a tank less than 5,000 gallons is $50.00 per tank per year, and 
the fee for larger tanks is $200.00 per tank per year.  
 
Wyoming Water Quality Rules and Regulations (WWQRR), Chapter 17 contains Rules and 
Regulations that apply to these regulated ASTs. Requirements include, but are not limited to: 
minimum site assessments (MSAs), construction standards, secondary containment, impact 
protection, corrosion protection, overfill prevention, secondary containment, and leak 
detection. 
 
Requirements from other agencies apply to these tanks as well.  While the following list of 
requirements may not be all inclusive, listed here are the requirements that this department is 
aware of.   There may be other requirements from other agencies that we are not aware of.  
These requirements are outlined in brief in the following sections: 
 
Requirements for all Petroleum ASTs: 
 
In this office, we get the following question, or similar questions very often:  “I have a client 
who would like to install an above ground storage tank (4000 gallon) to service his dirt 
contracting business. The fuel will not be for sale and used exclusively for his highway and off-
road equipment.  What are the requirements?” 
 
An AST of this type is not covered by the Wyoming Corrective Action Account, the Wyoming 
Financial Responsibility Account, and is not regulated by the Department of Environmental 
Quality (DEQ) Storage Tank Program (STP). You are not required to register this tank with the 
STP and there are no fees. Leaks and spills from these tanks must be reported to the DEQ and 
cleaned up entirely at the operator's expense. Joe Hunter is the DEQ Spill Response 
Coordinator and if a leak occurs, you can report releases to (307) 777-7781 24 hours a day. 
 
Spill Prevention Countermeasures and Control (SPCC), Environmental Protection Agency 
(EPA): 
 
If your facility has a fuel or oil storage capacity of 1,320 gallons or larger, you will have to 
comply with the SPCC rules found in 40 CFR112. This is an EPA Program which is not 
delegated to any state.  At EPA Region VIII, the SPCC coordinator is Melissa Payan. Her 
phone number is (303) 312-6511, or you can contact Cynthia Peterson at (303) 312-6879. The 
address in Denver is: EPA Region VIII, 999 18th Street, STE 500, Denver, CO 80202-2466. 
You can get extensive information about the EPA SPCC program from 
http://www.epa.gov/oilspill/ 
 



Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA): 
 
OSHA also has rules for flammable liquids found in 29 CFR 1910.106.   In Wyoming, the 
OSHA Administrator can be reached at (307) 777-7786, or by FAX at 
(307) 777-3646.  The Mailing address for OSHA is:  Wyoming Occupational Safety and Health 
Administration, 1510 East Pershing, Cheyenne, WY 82002. 
 
OSHA rules are close to the requirements of the SPCC rules, but they are not identical.  You 
can obtain information about OSHA requirements nationwide at http://www.osha.gov/ or from 
the State of Wyoming at the Secretary of State’s rules database.  On that database the 
department is “Employment”, and the Program is “Occupational Safety and Health”. 
 
Emergency Planning and Community Right to Know: 
 
If you store hazardous substances or flammable liquids you are subject to these rules.  You 
have to file a report once a year, with the Wyoming Emergency Management Agency 
(WEMA) and with the county coordinator for your county.  Commercial service stations who 
store less than 
75,000 gallons of gasoline or 100,000 gallons of diesel are exempt from this requirement. 
Commercial service stations who store more than these amounts, and all non-commercial 
service stations are not exempt from these requirements.  A non-commercial service station, for 
example, would be a trucking company that has its own tanks for fueling its own equipment.  
You can get information about WEMA and these requirements from http://wema.state.wy.us  a 
list of county 
coordinators is available from http://wema.state.wy.us/counties.htm 

 

Wyoming State Fire Marshall’s Office: 
Depending on where the tanks are to be located, you either go to the State Fire Marshall's 
Office or you go to the local fire department for a plan review prior to installing the tanks. 
Contact the State Fire Marshal's office or check their website to find out which areas are home 
rule. 

 

US Department of Transportation (USDOT) 
 
USDOT has rules for petroleum breakout tanks, which are defined as tanks located on an 
interstate pipeline which receive all of the product from the pipeline and which then return all 
of the product to an interstate pipeline. USDOT requirements are found in 49 CFR 195. 



Requirements for Storage Tanks for Hazardous Substances Other than Petroleum: 
 

The SPCC rules do not apply to anything other than oil. It is interesting to note that they apply 
to non-petroleum oils was well as petroleum oils. Therefore, a vegetable oil tank is required to 
be covered by an SPCC plan if it is large enough, but a Nitric Acid tank is not required to be 
covered by an SPCC plan. 
 
The Emergency Planning and Community Right to Know requirements under WEMA do apply 
to hazardous substance tanks. 
 
OSHA will have requirements, but not necessarily the same requirements as for flammable 
liquids. 
 
If the hazardous substance is also flammable, then the Wyoming State Fire Marshal’s rules will 
also apply. 


